When Pinterest Inspiration goes Wrong…

I’ve been a member of the online community “Pinterest” for a number of months now.  And while I admit, the inspiration I draw from other people’s boards is amazing, there are quite a few “flops” too.  Take for example the White Chicken Enchilada  recipe that is pinned everywhere I turn, and billed as “the best enchilada recipe ever”.  Well, I made it, and I am here to tell you that the headline under that pin is not very accurate.  Unless you like Hawaiian Poi, which has virtually no flavor, you will probably not like this recipe.  It looked good, and it smelled good…but boy, were those pinners wrong…


 This blog has moved!  Please go to www.myrubygirl.com for further reading!

7 thoughts on “When Pinterest Inspiration goes Wrong…

  1. I DID THE MINI CANDY APPLES WITHA MELON BALLER AND APPLES. WELL OVER NIGHT THEY FLOPPPED. THE CANDY CAME OFF THE APPLES WHERE THE RAW FLESH OF APPLES WERE AND IT BROKE THE CANDY DOWN. I HAD LIQUID CANDY AND APPLES. LOL LOOKED GOOD WHEN I FIRST DID IT. FLOPPED FLOFFPED FLOPPED. BUT I TOOK THE SAME RECIPE AND DID THEM ON WHOLE APPLES AND WORKED AWESOME.

    • The fingernail pics on Pinterest always look amazing, but I have heard that you practically need a degree in nail art to get them to turn out nicely. Have you had any of the fingernail inspirations work out for you?

  2. I’ve done the “yertles” and they’ve worked just fine for me.
    Put the pan of the rolos atop pretzels in a pre-heated 300 degree Fahrenheit oven for 3 minutes. Pull out and then gently push the nuts, or in my case m&m’s onto the semi-melted rolo.

    • I too have done the “yertles” but with cashews instead of walnuts. They’re on our blog. I make them ALL the time for parties and they are a huge hit. My guess is that she simply melted the rolos too much 🙂

      • I think the “yertles” (how did they get that name, anyway?) are phenomenal! We make them with pecans, because pecans are so plentiful in our neck of the woods. The recipe is super-simple, but if you don’t know that 3 minutes in the oven will more than suffice, the caramel melts out all over the place and it becomes like liquid cement! Adventures in “yertle” making!

    • Tried them using the three minute recommendation and they are fabulous. Any longer than three mins in the oven and it’s game over! Love your idea with the M & M’s!

Leave a Reply

